seamus dubhghaill

Promoting Irish Culture and History from Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

The Easter Rising Centennial

Leave a comment

GPO_Easter_Rising_PlaqueI publish this site as we prepare to enter the year 2016, which will be an important year to Ireland and those of Irish heritage around the world. During the upcoming year, we mark the centennial of the Easter Rising of 1916 which began on Easter Monday, April 24, 1916, and lasted for six days.

Approximately 1,200 Volunteers and Citizen Army members, led by Patrick Pearse and James Connolly, took over strongpoints in Dublin with the General Post Office being their headquarters. The British army, which had vastly superior numbers and artillery, quickly suppressed the Rising. Pearse agreed to an unconditional surrender on Saturday, April 29, 1916.

Ninety people were sentenced to death in a series of courts martial, which began on May 2. Fifteen of those, including all seven signatories of the Proclamation, had their sentences confirmed by British General John Maxwell and were executed by firing squad at Kilmainham Gaol in Kilmainham, Dublin between May 3 and 12.

Although lasting but six days, the Rising succeeded in bringing physical force republicanism back to the forefront of Irish politics.

Annual commemorations, rather than taking place on April 24–29, are typically based on the date of Easter, which is a moveable feast. The official programme of centenary events in 2016 climaxes from March 26 (Good Friday) to April 3 (Easter Saturday) with other events earlier and later in the year taking place on the calendrical anniversaries.

Author: Jim Doyle

As a descendant of Joshua Doyle (b. 1775, Dublin, Ireland), I have a strong interest in Irish culture and history, which is the primary focus of this site. I am a Network Engineer at The Computer Hut, LLC, which is my salaried job. I am a member of the Irish Cultural Society of Arkansas, a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization (2010-Present, President 2011-2017) and a commissioner on the City of Little Rock Arts+Culture Commission (2015-2020, 2021-Present, Chairman 2017-2018).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s